K. V. Subana

Born on 20 February 1932 in Mundigesara, Karnataka, Shri K. V. Subbanna graduated in Kannada literature from the University of Mysore in 1953. A founder-member of Ninasam, he has directed numerous plays including Mrichchhakatika, Urubhanga, Hamlet, Sangyabalya, Ashad ka ek Din and Ghashiram Katwal. He has also translated, adapted, and written a number of plays. His publications include a collection of plays; a collection of poems, and a translation of Dasharoopaka in Kannada. Shri Subbanna established Akshara Prakashan in 1958, a publishing house which today has a list of more than 400 titles. Shri Subbanna was honoured with the Magsaysay Award in 1991 for his contribution to journalism, literature and creative communication. Shri K.V. Subbanna receives the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for his overall contri- bution to theatre.